Anne of Green Gables

This summer I'm going to read the whole Anne of Green Gables series.  It's a lot of reading as their are about eight books to read.  Eight of the books in the series are available in the public domain and free for download but there are a  couple of the books in the series aren't available in the public domain so I'll either buy them or check them out from the library.

Books in the series

These are the eight books in the Anne series

  1. Anne of Green Gables (1908)
  2. Anne of Avonlea (1909)
  3. Anne of the Island (1915)
  4. Anne of Windy Poplars (1936)
  5. Anne's House of Dreams (1917)
  6. Anne of Ingleside (1939)
  7. Rainbow Valley (1919)
  8. Rilla of Ingleside (1921)

A reason to read

Back in the day everybody was obsessed with the Anne of Green Gables books.  People couldn't get enough. Even Mark Twain was a big Anne fan.  You won't find the Anne series on any university reading lists but you can't argue with millions of fans whose love for the Anne books span a lifetime.

A hundred years

It's been more than a hundred years since the first Anne of Green Gables books was first published but the themes of love, family, and friendship are still so relevant and of course entertaining.  Sometimes I find that it's good to travel back in time and connect with what was important then as it is so often what is important to us now.

A challenge

Read along with me this summer and let's find out what makes the Anne of Green Gables series so beloved and timeless.

Read Along

Since the "Anne" books are in the public domain, I'm making them available for download here at eBook-Mom.  The format for these downloads are PDF files.  I want to thank Project Gutenberg for these files.

Here's  a neat thing about the PDF files: you can download them to your device or computer or you can read the text online. 


If you would like to download some of the Anne series from my website, click here.

Amazon Kindle

Amazon provides most of the Anne of Green Gables books that are in the public domain.  I find it easier to download the books from Amazon so that the book can be delivered to my Kindle for free via Amazon Whispernet. Just click the purchase button and the book will be delivered to the Kindle of your choice.  Yea!

Additional Anne of Green Gables Books

There are an additional two books that are not directly part of the Anne series but they include short stories about the characters found in the series.  These books are:

Chronicles of Avonlea and Further Chronicles of Avonlea

These books can be found for free download on amazon.

Other Sources

I couldn't find all the books available for free download on Amazon but you can find these books at most free e-book websites that offer books still in the public domain.  You can find all but two of the books at the Gutenberg Project.  You can also visit Manybooks to download the series.  I like Manybooks because they offer a nice summary of the book and other interesting book stats.

Although I'm providing the PDF files of the Anne books here at eBook-mom, you can find other file formats for your device at Manybooks or the Gutenberg Project.

Anne of Windy Poplars and Anne of Ingleside are not available in the public domain.

The "Anne Files"

There are a lot of neat resources for the Anne series and I will be writing about them here at the "Anne Files" .   Check this page for ongoing info about Anne. (more)